In order to become a Firefighter with the South Fulton Fire and Rescue Department, you must have the following prerequisites and post requisites.
Prerequisites for becoming a firefighter include the following:
- Cannot have been convicted of a felony for the past 10 years
- Must be at least 18 years old
- Must have a high school diploma or GED equivalency
- Must have a valid State of Georgia Driver’s License Class A or B Non-Commercial or Commercial (CDL)
- Must pass a physical examination administered by the Fulton County Department of Health and Wellness
- Must successfully pass a physical agility test administered by the Fire Rescue Department
Post requisites for becoming a firefighter include the following:
- Maintain compliance with South Fulton Fire and Rescue Department Training requirements
- Must successfully complete the Georgia Basic Firefighter Curriculum within one (1) year of employment and maintain compliance of a minimum of 120 hours of training annually
- Successfully complete the South Fulton Fire and Rescue Department Probationary Firefighter Program
For other employment details, including current job postings, you may contact the human Resources Department.